Tough on issues, principle and process. Soft on the people

Posted: January 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

There is no question in my mind that city employees are good hard working people with very good intentions. Some of us even share common interests beyond the airport, such as rugby.

I am very interested in building long term relationships,  finding creative solutions and a mutual effort to make the new airport as successful as it can be.

I want to be absolutely clear on this point because a difference in opinions on process, policy and application is often misinterpreted as a personal attack. This quickly undermines any effort to build a framework of trust .

“He is disagreeing with me therefore he is attacking me personally”.

Let’s change the dynamic of the conversation by agreeing to be tough on the issues and principles and soft on the people, so we can all be friends at the end of the day.  Separate the people from the problems.

If I have offended anyone by my my tough stance on these issues, I apologize.

I am simply asking for a respectful back and forth dialog. If you feel that I am asking inappropriate questions or that the information is confidential PLEASE tell me and why. Feel free to ask me some tough questions.

You might be surprised what we can collectively accomplish by simply agreeing to to some basic ground rules for communication that can evolve into a rich and productive collaborative process.

Leave a comment